Using cache changes the game

Options
I recently migrated to the Prototype plan because of the following features:

- Dedicated server
- Redis cache
- Custom domain

I would like to share here that caching makes a lot of difference, mainly depending on your function/endpoint.

In simple query the cache can decrease the response time up to 2 seconds. But there was an endpoint that I do an external query in another API that takes around 30 seconds. In this case using cache in the first query takes up to 30 seconds but the others while the cache does not expire return in just 250ms.

I'm still learning how to use it in the best way, but here's the tip.

Comments

• Michael Udinski
    Michael Udinski Administrator

ADMIN

Options
    Great to hear! Caching via Redis is an incredibly powerful tool!
  • Denis Presciliano
    Options
    I am in the same boat, just upgrade to Prototype.

My app it's in beta, just friends testing.
    I think it's better I update my final domain before lunch the app.

I have my domain in GoDaddy, my plan is set my custom domain as a sub-domain, like api.mycoolapp.com, and leave my web application in mycoolapp.com

What is you thoughts, do you think I can have any DNS performance issues?
    Or should I have different domains, one for API and other to the Web Application?

Thanks.
  • bradvoegele
    Options

That's great to hear that you've migrated to the Prototype plan and are benefiting from its features, especially the dedicated server, Redis cache, and custom domain. Caching indeed plays a crucial role in optimizing the performance of your application, and its impact can vary depending on the specific functions or endpoints you're using.