Store image on an external db - HELP

Options
Hello everyone, 
I REALLY need to find a solution in order to reduce the size of the images within my app's database. Indeed Xano can't compress images, so I need to find an alternative tool. 

From what I saw, there are multiple alternatives :
• Uploadcare
• S3
• Google file storage
• Other ? 

What would you recommand since I need a mix of simplicity and performance ? 

Thanks !

Comments

• Brandon Hassler
    Options
    Xano noob here, but I imagine part of the answer should factor in cost. In both speed and cost, it seems like S3 is the most robust solution.
  • Robin C
    Robin C Member
    Options
    That's what i think aswell, but I saw a lot of people talking about Uploadcare in Xano's community.
    Moreover, how simple do you think it is to set the workflow between S3 and Xano ? 
  • Brandon Hassler
    Options
    I'm just spit balling, but perhaps there is some sort of way to use a 3rd party compression tool and still save the images to your Xano DB?

The logic would look something like calling that 3rd party compression API by sending them the photo. They compress it and send it back and that is the new version you save to DB.

Maybe that's not a thing that exists. If not, there is your next billion dollar company 😂
  • Brandon Hassler
    Options
     I've not done this myself, but just like any external API, you just need to build out a call to connect to their DB and follow their documentation.

Here's an answer from  that seems to outline what you need to do: https://community.xano.com/c/help-im-a-noob/external-storage#comment_wrapper_6652357
  • Robin C
    Robin C Member
    Options
     It must exist indeed but 25g of file bandwith each 30days seems very very small for my app, even with compressed image.. 
  • Chris Coleman
    Chris Coleman Administrator

ADMIN

Options
    Hi, Robin. Great question, and thanks again  for always jumping in and helping, we really appreciate it.