database best practices

Options
nelson artunduaga
nelson artunduaga Member
edited January 2023 in ? Help! I'm a Noob

Hello, we are reorganizing our databases, since we saw the need to make our processes more optimal, I am not really an expert in databases, I would like to have some opinion on what would be the best practices to avoid long times in the searches from our Front. apart from this, I have some questions: 

1. Is there any best practice to implement from now on where the data is segmented in some way? so that in the future if there is a massive amount of data it does not take a request to search for a specific data? 

2. When deciding which country to choose in Xano in our account which one should we choose? taking into account that we are located in Colombia south america and our clients also, but, we use webflow and Wized (hosted in germany) which should be the best location to choose?

3. the fact of using Xano already optimizes in some way our databases to minimize time in the future with large amounts of data?

4. is it better to perform a complicated logic in one request, where different tasks are performed at the same time (in the same request) or is it better to split this complicated logic in 2 or 3 different requests? 

Tagged:

Comments

• Ray Deck
    Ray Deck Trusted Xano Expert ✭✭✭
    Options

These questions boil down to how one gets data from the tables to your users. Certain aspects depend on more details than all this, but in general:

1. Position your data to be in proximity to your users. Don't worry about the proximity to your webflow or wized servers. In a web context, requests to the back-end come from the user's browser. The "front end" is not a relay.