What is the ideal table structure, where courses have slide-based lessons with unique content types?

Options

Hello everyone πŸ‘‹,

I'm new to Xano and working on a project which is about learning management system. I'm using Webflow + Wized + Xano.

So here I have 2 tables "Courses" and "Lessons".
Courses table will have list of course name and some more information about that course.
Lessons table will have content for each course.

For lessons we are showing content as a slide.
Here's the structure I've created right now.

Table: Courses
Columns:

• course_id
  • course_name
  • course_image
  • course_description

Table: Lessons
Columns:

• lesson_id
  • course_id (referencing course_id in Courses table)
  • slide_number
  • slide_image
  • slide_text

For each slide I have unique set of content. For
Slide 1 it will be just 1 image field and 1 text field.
Slide 2 will have 1 image and 2 paragraph.
Slide 3 will have different type of fields and so on…

Since each slide will have unique set of content type I've no idea on setting up database. Each database entry act as a slide so should I create tables for each slides? like slide 1, slide 2? Also for each courses slide content setup will be same just content will change and some course might have 5 slide and some have more than that.

Can some one help me how to create table structure with this requirements?
I saw amazing tutorial on Xano+Wized by @Chris Coleman which was really helpful for me. If you can help me?

I've created static slider for demo purpose for better understanding. You can check here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1z7s9IXMqVMfAobAd6XLwmqdeyemTFOTE/view?usp=sharing

Answers

• jakespirek
    jakespirek Member, Administrator

ADMIN

Options

Hi Gaurang πŸ‘‹

Thanks for sharing your question here!

I think this could totally be doable with the tables you mentioned, depending on the max number of images/text variations that you might need on a slide.