POST conditional on existing record

Options

I am fairly new to API's so forgive me if this is a naive question.

I would like to setup an API request that POST a new record in a table for a given user so long as there is not already a record in that table for that user. Otherwise I would like to update that existing record with the incoming info.

What would be the best way to achieve this?

Best Answers

• Guillaume Maison
    Guillaume Maison Member ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Peter Nooteboom
    Yep, you do a Query All Record with the criterias mentioned. if you already have a record, the result variable is not null. Else, it is null.
    You can make your conditional on result variable = null :

and for the Conditional: if condition :

• Guillaume Maison
    Guillaume Maison Member ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Peter Nooteboom i forgot to mention that in the query all records’ output, I set the query to return a single record and not a list. That’s why I’m able to set the condition == null.

and then no need to reference the first element of the array :)

Answers

• Ray Deck
    Ray Deck Trusted Xano Expert ✭✭✭
    Options

There is a useful function called add or edit record which will supply this functionality in a function stack. Do you know how to identify whether the record is already there? Some sort of key or ID that you use to tell records apart / identify duplicates? With that in hand, you would probably use a "create record" style POST request, and then modify it to use the "add or edit" rather than "add record" with a check on whatever field you use for that purpose.

This is the cool part! Getting out of the "standard" REST metaphors is where we start to make much more interesting endpoints in Xano! We discuss these sorts of edge use cases in our daily office hours and loom-enabled forums on State Change Pro.

• Prepify
    Prepify Member
    edited June 2023
    Options