Displaying an image in a front end

Options

I just posted this comment elsewhere (sorry!), but just now saw the "Noob" section, where it probably properly goes.

I'm a beginner, and trying to display images in Weweb, using the Xano template backend (the one for photo sharing/liking). All of the "data display" elements in Weweb have trouble displaying the data that I pull from Xano into a Weweb "collection." Is there a simple example (maybe in psuedo code) you could show of best practices to display a single image in a front end, from a Xano databse?

Answers

• Liz Anaya
    Liz Anaya Member, Administrator

ADMIN

Options

Hi @Xanoguy! 👋

Here is a walkthrough on how you can display a single image in a front-end from a Xano database. Once you can retrieve the image URL from your Xano database, I suggest looking at the docs for the front-end platform of your choice to ensure you are importing the data correctly to the front end.

The first step I recommend is to check your database table where your images are stored and ensure they are stored correctly. You can check out the docs here if you need help uploading content to your database.

Here is an example of data (including images) that I imported from https://fakestoreapi.com/.

Next, I have an API endpoint that takes in a product id as input and responds with the product information. The response is the information you pass to your front end. In this example, I can find an image URL in the response and use that URL to display the image on the front end.

Let me know if this is helpful or if you have any additional questions! 😊

• Xanoguy
    Xanoguy Member
    Options

Thanks a lot, but my problem comes as the next step, how to dynamically display the image in my front end.