Sync between Dev Test and Live

Options

If I have 3 workspaces Dev, Test, and Live. What is the best way to sync all the changes done in Dev and move to Live?

Comments

• Chris Coleman
    Chris Coleman Administrator

ADMIN

Options

Hi @pepecortez3604 — great question, and a tricky one! We have a feature that enables cross-workspace sync but it is currently only available to our enterprise customers. :( Typically, you'd do all of this in one workspace and use Branches / Branch Merging and test data sources. You're even able to call your new API branches externally as well as run them against your test data sources before you merge the changes into live.

• firestone8
    Options

Question from a newbie here: how can we transfer dev data into the live data environment (within a single workspace)?

In our case, we are using the dev data environment to curate the data. We would like to transfer that data into the live environment. Should this be achieved through developing a Task (cron job)?

• jackb
    jackb Member
    Options

@firestone8 did you find a solution for this?

• firestone8
    Options

Hi @jackb - not yet. Still looking for an answer/solution!

• jackb
    jackb Member
    Options

yeah @firestone8 in theory we can do this with a daily background task with functions to clear the test database, query the live database, and bulk add the live database to test.

however the problem is that this is maintenance hell because you’ll have to manually define every single table and map each column in every table, so you’ll constantly have to maintain it as the schema changes. New table? Update the background task. New column? Update the task. Etc.

Don’t think this is realistic.

• firestone8
    Options

Thanks Jackb for the answer. Indeed, this is what we were considering initially but would not proceed with this as it generate more technical debt than it solves the problem.