Multiply two columns in a table

Options
Mr Unfreeze
Mr Unfreeze Member
edited August 2023 in ? Help! I'm a Noob

Hello,
How may I multiply (for each row) two columns within the same table in a database, and create a new column with the result?

Thank you

Best Answer

Answers

• Pawel Magdanski
    Pawel Magdanski Member ✭✭✭
    Options

Hi,

If you really need to have the multiplication in additional column then you need to create additional column for you result in table manually and possibly update it via endpoint whenever those two values you are multiplying are updated.

So for example if you are getting those 2 values as an input from your front-end, before creating/updating record, first create a variable which use "multiply" filter and do the math. Then you can save all three of your values in database.

On the other hand, result of multiplication of two values you already have in your table is derivative and multipling two values is something that Xano is doing really fast, so it might be a better idea to do this on the fly in endpoints whenever you need this value on the front-end.

• Mr Unfreeze
    Mr Unfreeze Member
    edited August 2023
    Options

2: Hi Pawel,

Thank you for your answer. Indeed at a later stage this data will come from the front-end and populate the database. I tried to create a variable through a function but can't "get" the data to do the multiplication.

1. Function get all record from the "financial data" table, which I narrowed to the 2 variables I want to multiply, in this example "trip_weekend_frequency" by Trip_weekend_amount". (btw I want to do a for each loop so that I do this for each row in my table)
    2. I created a multiply variable to multiply the two above-mentioned fields. The problem is that in the "value" field, I do not see these 2 fields so I can't multiply one by the other.

Do you know how to make them appear ?

Thank you Pawel .

• Pawel Magdanski
    Options

Ok,