Reference by question

Options

Hi all!

This should be a simple one, but I'm new to Xano.

How can I link an App user to what they do in the App? For example, I have a 'Sign up' table with name, email and password fields. Users are then navigated to a profile screen (linked to a 'User' table) where they add a profile pic, gender, age etc.

I have a 'reference by' column for signup_id in my user table, but I have to double click and select the user from the signup table myself. When I actually have users will this update automatically (i.e. the information input into the user table will be connected to the users' signup_id)?

I have tried logging in myself, but my signup_id is not added to the user table as i had hoped/expected.

Thanks in advance.

Best Answers

• Pawel Magdanski
    Pawel Magdanski Member ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

It would be much easier for me if you can share your table and function stack of the relevant endpoint.

But here is an example of adding a record that contains relation to another table. In input I'm providing a question_id from the record that should be connected to the asnwer record I'm creating. From the front end perspective if you have a list and want to go to the detail page you should pass the id of clicked element to the detail page/state and use it call get API from Xano to get the details about the record.

Hope that helps, if you need some more help, please provide more data.

• jwhitlock
    jwhitlock Member
    Answer ✓
    Options

if the data is coming from the front end, you'll want to add an input in your xano api with the user id so you can reference it when you create the event. then add a parameter to the api call in your front end to push that data to xano.

Answers

• Pawel Magdanski
    Options

Hi,

If you have refrerence to another table you still need to provide id of the record you want to refer to when you are adding a new record or you want to edit that field.

• GavinReid
    Options