How to retrieve data for a specific user

Options
NWold
NWold Member

I am currently using Xano with Draftbit.

My goal is to only display data in one table based on the user being set to the current authenticated user that is signed in.

At the moment it works as I am able to manually set the user I want. Although, I have only been able to query the user based on email and not their userid.

How can I ensure that a user will only retrieve data that is specific to them?

Also, I am joining 3-4 tables together to retrieve this data. Is this a problem as well?

Answers

• Max
    Max Member
    Options

hi, im not sure if I understood you completely, but you might want to look at default /auth/me endpoint in xano, as it will always return you your users id and authtoken, therefore you can use them in variables, and enable authenfication on xano endpoints, from that point read more on RBAC - that should do what you want. I have no experience with draftbit, but im pretty sure there should be a lot of variable functionality as in other no-code builders i seen.

• NWold
    NWold Member
    Options

Hi Max, I managed to get it working but setting my endpoint to authentication required. This seems to work for when I am using GET, but when I am using PATCH, I seem to be having problems editing information that is only connected to an authenticated user. Do you know any ways around this?

• Max
    Max Member
    edited October 2023
    Options

I believe you solve this with combination of frontend logic and api endpoint logic on xano side. you can add some role fields to users, or, as I do it links to groups in say user_group table, and based on that control with logic what resources are available to current user

for example if you have some hierarchy, like projects - people - assets - clients - deals etc, and you link user group with project, you can then trace in your logic relation between a group and record in all tables related to that project record as "childs"