Getting only the INTof a record id from a get all records query

Options
simon
simon Member
edited October 2023 in ? Help! I'm a Noob

I am unable to get a only the INT from a simple get all records query.

I am getting the company id from the logged in user and store it in buyer_id.
Using the buyer_id, I filter my second query certificates using only the company_id INT.

How can I get only the number the INT and not the object with the number? The closest I get is [2] or [{id: 2}] and not 2

Happy to hear other ways of doing it.

Essentially I simply want to display certificates that belong to a logged in user.
My shema:

table: "users"

table: "companies" links to > user_id

table: "certificates" links to > "companies"

Many thanks.

Best Answer

• arturosanz
    arturosanz Member ✭✭
    edited October 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

@simon Query All Records returns a list by default. If you want it to return a single value (the first one found) you must select single from the configure return dropdown menu.

Another option would be to use the Get Record function instead, which always returns a single value or null.

Your company_id variable returned from the first Query All Records function will be a list by default, so the Create Variable buyer_id = company_id.id won't work.

You can access the item from a list by its index like so company_id.0.id where 0 is the item index. You can either use the dot notation or the get filter to access a specific item from a list.

Another option would be to use the json_encode and json_decode filters to convert arrays and objects to text strings and viceversa, and play with it.

Answers

• Cameron B
    Cameron B Member, Administrator

ADMIN

Options

Hey there - it looks like you're doing the right thing to get the id of the record. In fact, you are returning only the id of the record.